Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child up to 5 years old. Your child will mostly be taught through structured games and play and their learning will be developed around their interests. 

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

The children are working towards achieving the Early Learning Goals (ELG's) at the end of the EYFS.